top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex Brian

Ty Gallaway of Shady Oaks Talks Us Through Their Latest Single, 'Numb'.

Once a solo performer, Ty Gallaway realised his music needed a little extra oomph. Since then, he has massively expanded his sound and now fronts the Denver-based quintet, Shady Oaks, whose latest single, 'Numb', caught my attention. Other than Ty, the group comprises of Jonah Samp (drums), Loren Dorland (vocals), Isaac Vance (rhythm guitar) and Brendan Lamb (bass). However upbeat and bluesy their new track may be, its lyrics explore some heavy themes, emanating from Ty's personal experiences. Here, Ty explains his writing process, the song's meaning and the band's plans for the future.


Band photograph
Photo: Chris Carboni

1. Firstly, I’d love to know, where did you all meet?


I met Isaac the first week I moved to Colorado back in 2012. We jammed for a few months and then I invited him to play with Shady Oaks in 2020 after we made some changes to the line-up.


I met Jonah through some mutual friends from college. Brendan was my intern at the studio I was working at, and I met Loren through a co worker. She recorded vocals on our track 'Tequila' and then she joined the band!


2. I know that, for a long time, you were a solo artist. What inspired you to form a band?


Honestly, I was bored of playing alone and wanted to crank up the volume. My solo music would have never worked with just a guitar and vocals, I always had a plan to build a band.


3. ‘Numb’ is the 1st Shady Oaks track I’ve heard where Loren Dorland has a prominent vocal part and it sounds amazing! How did this come about?


I believe that is our first song that she wrote a chorus in. Normally she just sings behind me and does some fun vocoder stuff. When she joined, she started writing choruses over our jam sections.


4. Who gets involved in the writing process? Is it mostly you or do the whole band pitch in?


Usually, I will build out a full song in Logic (guitars, bass, drums, and vocal parts). Then, I bring the demo to practice and we re-work it for a few weeks until it is good to go!


5. How do you write music? Do lyrics or bluesy riffs come first?


I will usually record all the instruments first, starting with a guitar riff over a drum loop. Then, I'll build the song out and start looping the verse while recording vocal takes until something works out.


6. The lyrics of ‘Numb’ explore loneliness and depression. Is this something you have experienced personally?


Totally... I am generally a happy guy, but I was a little lost/numb in my last relationship. I am still writing about it.


7. Do you think exploring these themes through music is important?


Cheaper than a therapist... and if it ever helps someone with their mental health, then I did my job.


8. I love the contrast between your upbeat sound and darker lyrics. Is this something you aim for or does it come about naturally?


I think it comes naturally. I am really not that great at writing happy tunes. The world is definitely not rainbows and smiles (especially these days) so I relate to the darkness.


9. What can fans expect from your live shows?


You will 100% leave with short term hearing loss and a cigarette in your hand. We are loud, all performers, and bring the crowd a wild rollercoaster of emotions.


10. What gig has been your favourite to play?


The Fox Theatre in April. We felt and played like gods that day.


11. What is the music scene like in Denver? Are there other bands my readers should be listening to?


Denver is wonderful. The crowds are very passionate about music and extremely respectful (most of the time). We have a large group of regulars that show hop during the week and support as many bands as they can afford to. There are too many bands to name but my top 3 bands to see live are Dayshaper, Liontortoise and Mosaic Lemonade.


12. Who would play at your dream festival and why?


Oh man... Probably The Dead Weather, Black Angels, Shady Oaks, and Deadmau5... I am a sucker for his production.


13. What shows have you got lined up?


We have two shows in North Colorado on July 16th (Sterling, CO and Peetz, CO), UMS on July 30 at Stoneys, Rino Showcase on August 27 (I think) and a few more in the works...


14. When can we expect new music?


Hopefully in early August... We should have another single ready by then. And then MAYBE one more single before the album drops.


15. Finally, give three reasons why my readers should drop everything right now and go listen to ‘Numb’.


1) I think we have a unique sound that is hard to classify, so what you are hearing will be new to your ears.

2) The lyrics are all boldly stated and true. We do not try to hide the story behind some bullshit phrasing that you have to decipher.

3) I guarantee you will find something you can relate to and it will remind you that you are not alone in your struggles.


'Numb' is available on all streaming services.





bottom of page